ASISA announces full Board of Directors

21 May 2009 Association for Savings and Investment South Africa (ASISA)

The Association for Savings and Investment South Africa (ASISA) has appointed two additional directors to its Board with immediate effect.

The appointment of Derrick Msibi, MD of Investment Solutions, and Herman Steyn, Executive Chairman of Prescient Investment Management, brings to 17 the number of ASISA Board members.

Leon Campher, CEO of ASISA, says while 14 members of the Board are the heads of the companies that had been mandated by the previous four associations to work towards forming a new unified association, Msibi and Steyn are the first elected Board members.

He explains that a member can only be represented on the ASISA Board by the company’s most senior representative. Campher says the aim is to ensure that high level strategic thinking shapes the future of the financial services industry.

The current ASISA Board now comprises the following directors:

Johan van Zyl – Group CEO of Sanlam (chairman)
Greg Fury – COO of Allan Gray (deputy chairman)
Leon Campher – CEO of ASISA
Bruce Hemphill – CEO of Liberty Group
Derrick Msibi - MD of Investment Solutions
Frank Cadiz – MD of Cadiz African Harvest Asset Management
Fred Robertson – Chairman of Commlife Holdings
Graham Mason – CEO of Prudential Portfolio Managers South Africa
Herman Steyn - Executive Chairman of Prescient Investment Management
Herschel Mayers - CEO of Discovery Life
Hugo Nelson – CEO of Coronation Fund Managers
John Green – MD of Pan Africa Investec Asset Management
Nicolaas Kruger – CEO of the Momentum Group
Paul Hanratty – MD of Old Mutual (SA)
Shaheen Ebrahim – Chairman of Oasis Group Holdings
Tebogo Naledi – CEO of Afena Capital
Wilhelm van Zyl – Group Chief Executive of Metropolitan Holdings

The election of the Board members is overseen by the ASISA Nominations Committee.

It is the duty of the Nominations Committee to consider the composition of the Board of Directors. Members of this committee are therefore required to have the necessary industry knowledge, experience, and skills to determine the eligibility and merit of candidates nominated to be appointed to the Board of Directors. This committee also advises on the appointment of the members of the ASISA Board Committees in consultation with the chairperson of each Board Committee

Campher says two additional members have also been appointed to this committee. They are Dr Anwah Nagia, Chairman of Frater Asset Management, and Willie Lategan, Chief Executive of ABSA Financial Services. These new members will serve on the committee together with the following existing members:

Bruce Hemphill – CEO of Liberty Group
Greg Fury – COO of Allan Gray
Hugo Nelson – CEO of Coronation Fund Managers
Johan van Zyl – CEO of Sanlam (chairman)
Leon Campher – CEO of ASISA

Quick Polls


How confident are you that insurers treat policyholders fairly, according to the Treating Customers Fairly (TCF) principles?


Very confident, insurers prioritise fair treatment
Somewhat confident, but improvements are needed
Not confident, there are significant issues with fair treatment
fanews magazine
FAnews June 2024 Get the latest issue of FAnews

This month's headlines

Understanding prescription in claims for professional negligence
Climate change… the single biggest risk facing insurers
Insuring the unpredictable: 2024 global election risks
Financial advice crucial as clients’ Life policy premiums rise sharply
Guiding clients through the Two-Pot Retirement System
There is diversification, and true diversification – choose wisely
Decoding the shift in investment patterns
Subscribe now